What the HELL am I DOING??


Here it is folks. The big admission. I have NO real idea what I’m doing. I’m flying by the seat of my pants with this blog. That’s not to say that the information you’re getting so far isn’t accurate to the best of my ability.

That IS saying that, in all likelihood, I have bitten off a big chunk of “Holy Crap!!” and now am trying to figure out what the HELL to do with this overwhelming task. What IS this task, you ask? My goal is to be a one stop shop for new skeptics. You want to know what skepticism is in a nutshell (and it IS a VERY big nutshell BTW), this is the place to look. You want to find out the easiest way to apply skeptical thinking to your daily life? Here’s the place to look first.

One of the big problems I’m running into is that now that I’ve gone over some of the basic ideas, what do I do next? Half the time I don’t know much about a topic I want to cover so I have to research. i just don’t know exactly where to get credible information on certain topics. For instance, there is SO much Woo in quantum physics and I’m not a physicist so I don’t know what’s woo and what isn’t.

[[Definition: Woo-woo from The Skeptic’s Dictionary (http://www.skepdic.com/woowoo.html)

woo-woo

Woo-woo (or just plain woo) refers to ideas considered irrational or based on extremely flimsy evidence or that appeal to mysterious occult forces or powers.]]

Of course I don’t want to pass along bad information or proliferate ideas that are based in bad science. So I flounder around whimpering and wringing my hands. In the end I write something different from what I originally planned OR I pass along information I’ve seen on the Skepchick’s blog.

What’s worse is that next week after I get my hard drive upgraded I’m going to start work on the Fledgeling Skeptic podcast. I have NO idea what to do with it really. Rote vocabulary is SO boring and people will tune out in less than 5 minutes.

I’m thinking about doing something similar to the Geologic podcast and have different segments dealing with a variety of topics. I just don’t want to be a copycat. It takes a unique, individual style to make for a good, popular podcast.

I’d love to get suggestions from people. I know there aren’t many of you yet. I could sure use the help though.

Leave a Reply

