Conversations With My Car


I realized something today. Even though I know logically that my car, Maz, doesn’t have a spirit or even a personality, that doesn’t stop me from having conversations with him. No I’m not off my meds and I don’t really hear him talk back. That doesn’t stop me from having a discussion though.

Here’s a photo of Maz so you know what he looks like.

CIMG0966As you can see, my car is really not much bigger than your average pregnant roller skate. It is smaller than a Mini Cooper by just a little bit. The Honda del Sol also came with a targa top. So he’s basically a convertible, too. I also had the interior completely redone with custom leather seats. All it needs is new paint.

Now here comes the fun part. I actually have conversations with my car. For instance, this morning I had to ship off a package to a customer so I drove over to the post office and parked. On the other side of a small median was a new Corvette.

I could almost hear that Maz growling with jealousy because the Vette’s top was down. So I swatted him lightly on the steering wheel and told him “Stop growling. It’s not nice.”. He acquiesced with a sullen sigh. Then I proceeded to explain” It’s too hot to have your top off.”. It’s still in the high 80’s to low 90’s here in central Florida during mid day.

I honestly can’t imagine that I’m the ONLY person who has conversations with their car. I’ve SEEN other people talk to their cars time and again. Nicholas Cage’s character talked to Eleanor when she started to sputter during the chase scene in “Gone In 60 Seconds”. A person with even the tiniest bit of imagination could relate, feeling like the car was acting up on purpose.

Now here’s the question: Why? Why do we attribute human emotions and behaviors to inanimate objects? For my part I was an only child and I was left to my own devices quite frequently. So I developed a habit of talking to myself so that I didn’t feel so alone. Maybe I’m still doing that to some extent.

I’m only doing that with my car though. I don’t do it with anything else: Not my laptop, even though I call it my baby; not my iPod, though I really love having it. I don’t even humanize my dog. I can thank Cesar Milan for that though.

I have to admit that a part of me misses the magic I had convinced myself was in the world. I can’t delude myself anymore though. I don’t WANT to. So I still keep these little quirks. Even at 42 years of age I still enjoy playing pretend now and again.

1 Comment

  1. kim spencer said,

    September 22, 2009 at 6:06 pm

    Don’t worry, you are not going crazy and you are not alone. i talk to my car all the time. =)


Leave a Reply

