Ms. Popularity


I may well get kicked out of my school by the end of the term. As many of you know, I started working on my Master’s in Herbalism through the American College of Heathcare Sciences before becoming a skeptic and atheist. A couple months ago the new term started.

In the last module one of the discussion questions asked the students to discuss why we would or would not get our children vaccinated. After taking a deep breath so I didn’t go with my initial “ARE YOU CRAZY YOU FUCKING NUTTERS??” outburst, I posted links to several pro-vacc websites that also detailed WHY vaccines are safe, etc. I just wish that http://www.sciencebasedmedicine.com was up and running. I still linked to the site after mentioning that it is currently down.

What floored me is that one anti-vacc student was told that she did a good job by our instructor and that both sides of the debate had lots of evidence!!! I really don’t know if I can keep going to a school where that kind of thinking is actually ENCOURAGED.

I was hoping that this debate would be skipped over. What’s worse is that this next module discusses homeopathy. I’m going to have to go in and utterly destroy that too.

In the first module many of my classmates discussed how they felt that alternative approaches to Western medicine were valid because they had been around a long time. The underlying tone was one of disdain for science and scientific study.

Herbalism CAN be approached scientifically and HAS been. There are many studies that cover the efficacy of various plant based medicines. But WHY my school feels the need to include woo-based bullshit alone with scientific content is beyond me. I just don’t get how a place that can be so in-depth with its studies on herbs can stoop to including homeopathy in the coursework.

I just don’t know HOW I’m going to be able to keep from calling people complete whackjobs this week when the homeopathy believers come out of the woodwork.

I could use some links and advice. Something besides “Quit” would be good.

2 Comments

  1. September 24, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    Oh, I wish I had some good advice for you. When I was going through infertility treatments for the first time, a friend of mine who was also going through infertility was insistent on trying everything from crystals to reiki to everything in between. She drove me nuts, because I knew there was no scientific evidence that showed those things worked. On the other side of things, a lot of religiously conservative people I knew insisted that my infertility was “all part of God’s plan.” Quite frankly, my problem was a medical issue, one that could only be solved through medical science, and I eventually walked away from all the people who were driving me crazy.

    How to deal with the people in your class? You could try listening to them, taking notes on what they say, and then asking for their evidence to back up their arguments. Make sure you have your ducks in a row first, with your own evidence to support your ideas. And be prepared to be unpopular. People who get that involved in “feel good” ideologies, etc., do not like being told they’re wrong.

    Good luck to you!

    • Herbwoman said,

      September 24, 2009 at 8:16 pm

      I’m sorry you’ve been through such a difficult time.

      I appreciate the advice. I’m going to do what I can in hopes that I can at least get one person to think about their position on these issues. I’m just glad that scinecebasedmedicine.org is back up.


Leave a Reply

