Execution


I went back and read over this before publishing and realized it is a bit of a rant. I’ll ask your indulgence in that regard. Please bear with me while I make my point though.

This is something I have been pondering for a very long time. Being the analytical person I am, I’ve noticed that since around the age of 39, I have less and less tolerance for what I see as idiocy. There are times when I tend to be much quicker to be dismissive of something.

For instance, last night there was a candle light vigil for a local man who was beaten into a coma. He never woke up from that and died last week. It’s great that so many people came to the vigil. I understand the desire for the prayers and the singing and support for the loved ones left behind. Personally, *I* want to rip off the genitals of the people who did the beating and then take a baseball bat to them until they stop moving. Or, to quote Richard form my favorite web comic, “Looking For Group”….Shoot them in the face until it stops being funny.

The older I get, the less tolerance I have for people who commit violence against others because of their sexuality, ethnicity, gender or even appearance. Some days I feel that they should be treated in the exact same way that they treated their victim.

Several years back there was an instance where a few guys chained another man to the back of a pick up truck and drug him to death. I can’t imagine a more inhuman way to treat someone. And yet the perpetrators sit in a cozy jail cell, get fed three means a day, watch TV, read and continue to waste perfectly good oxygen.

Why don’t we chain these bastards up to a truck and drag THEM to death? Because it’s inhuman. We’re “better” than that.

I have to ask myself…are we REALLY? Lethal injection is cruel because most of the time the first injection, the anesthetic, isn’t properly monitored. So the criminal to be executed is not anesthetized when the second injection, the Pancuronium bromide to induce paralysis, is administered.

Our humane lethal injection is then administered to someone who is awake and paralyzed when the potassium chloride is injected to stop his or her heart. This person who was supposed to be executed humanely is actually awake and in excruciating pain according to research done back in 2005. You can read the article here: http://bit.ly/2wPsCM

So are we REALLY more humane here in the West?

As many things as I disagree with in Sharia law, there IS one thing that I think they have right. Beheading, when done properly, is more humane. It is quick. It is painless since the spinal cord is severed. Yes, I know it sounds barbaric. Consider the options. Think about it. Do some research.

What do YOU think?

Leave a Reply

