Billboards


Driving through the rural areas in the South I find myself noticing billboards just out of boredom. Most of them are your standard advertisements. You know…hotels, restaurants, fruit stands. And then there are the religious billboards. These are the ones that say something vaguely snarky followed by the signature ” -God”.

“Don’t make me come down there.”. – God

From what I understand of the Christian religion, don’t they WANT the Second Coming? So why would they NOT want God to come down? As a former Christian I had looked forward to that. I also lived in terror of it. After all when you don’t know if you’re “good enough” and not being judged so means roasting and torture for all eternity the idea of being judged inadequate the idea of a Second Coming is a terrifying thing. It just doesn’t make sense to me to keep living in fear.

I have seen lots of those billboards. What I HAVEN’T seen are billboards for skeptical thinking. I’d love to see some that say simply “Think About It” and then some skeptic website. Maybe one like mine that introduces the basic premise of skepticism and the ideas behind logical thought.

Christians have billboards, TV and pint media. Atheists have busses. It’s about time skeptics have some kind of media exposure. I’m thinking about possibly starting a foundation for just such a purpose. Anyone interested in helping me organize this should email me.

Welcome to my new readers from NaNoBloMo! I hope you enjoy what you read here.

3 Comments

  1. Meg said,

    November 9, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I don’t have a link handy (though if you dig back about 6 months or so on my blog, there might be) but that are billboards going up around the country as well as buses.

    LOL – probably not too many in the South.

    • Herbwoman said,

      November 10, 2009 at 1:09 am

      I know there has been a movement by the atheist/non-believer community for some time now. I think that’s great that people are out there working on removing the stigma from the word ‘atheist’. It would be great if believers understand that we’re not out to destroy all that is good and decent in the world. Nor do my dietary requirements include babies 😀

      What I was talking about in the post though is billboards or some sort of major media for skeptics. You don’t have to be an atheist/non-believer/agnostic to be a skeptic. Though many who are skeptics fall into that category, it’s not a requirement to examine things from a scientific standpoint. All you need is an inquiring mind and a little logic.


Leave a Reply

