Modern Witch Hunts


I had heard rumors that such things were true. Now I have evidence. Randi.org published this video and article (http://bit.ly/eaUzr) concerning the brutal murder and subsequent burnings of, and I quote, “those suspected of witchcraft”. Five women were beaten and burned to death because they were suspected of performing witchcraft.

This is not some kind of fluke. Children and toddlers are being beaten and turned out of their homes because they are suspected of witchcraft. The fear of sorcery and witchcraft is widespread in this part of Africa. Innocent people are being beaten and killed because of these superstitions.

Please know this video IS graphic. It is not for the faint of heart

I still can’t make my mind make sense of what I was seeing. It’s as though suddenly the world is a jumble of three dimensional puzzle pieces and nothing is fitting into the spot labeled as “Maria’s World View”. This is So alien to me that even watching it a second time I just…I just can’t make this make sense in my head. I don’t understand how, in the 21st century, there can be any place where a human being drags another INTO a fire because they’re a witch.

It just doesn’t make sense.

And I’ll be saying that for a very long time, I think.

Leave a Reply

