Religion


Religion: This is one topic I have tried to steer clear of. My personal outlook on the matter is of no importance. The only reason I’m bringing it up now is that I received a couple comments on my “Billboards” post from two weekends ago. It was a positive and helpful comment and I am happy to have those.

The poster brought up the recent billboard campaigns by non-believers (http://bit.ly/2cWEez). I am happy to see that atheists are working to educate the general public about atheism, religion, etc. The more people who understand that we’re not going to eat their children or small pets, the better.

I would just like to make the point that in order to be a skeptic, one does not have to be a non-believer. Many of us are. Some are not. Those who are believers have their own reasons for maintaining a belief in a divine being or beings. I will not judge. Though I may ask some hard questions.

Skeptics come in all different stripes, just like skepticism. All it really takes to be a skeptic is an inquiring mind and a bit of logic.

2 Comments

  1. Meg said,

    November 11, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    ah, you see; I don’t agree with you.

    ‘Believers’ in my book don’t inquire past the limits of their ‘faith’ and skip logic when it comes into conflict with said faith.

  2. November 13, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I really hate to lump all believers together though. My husband still maintains a belief in a higher power because it comforts him. He’s learning to be more of a critical thinker. He’s just not ready to give up an afterlife yet.


Leave a Reply

