Olfactory Memory


Can you smell something that isn’t there? Have you ever been watching TV and suddenly you caught a whiff of what was on? For instance, someone pulls a steaming tray of fresh cookies out of the oven and, for just a moment, you smell cookies? Or a Vlassic commercial comes on and all of a sudden your head is filled with the sharp spike of vinegar?

There has been a great deal of research done on scent triggering memories. But what about visual stimulation triggering scent memory? Is that some form of dyslexia? I *am* dyslexic. When I get really tired or I’m in a hurry, I transpose letters or numbers. Could this be a backwards form of the standard olfactory memory? I have looked around and have been unable to find anything on this topic. If anyone can suggest websites that I can use to research this, I would be most appreciative.

Leave a Reply

