Talking To The Dead


Yesterday I re-watched the very first episode of Penn & Teller’s Bullshit “Talking To The Dead” on YouTube

If you have followed my story, you know that I used to think that I was steeped in New Age practices. I’m ashamed of myself for ever having thought that what I was doing was helpful. Thankfully I was never self-deluded enough to believe I could talk to the dead. It was bad enough that I thought I could see the future for my friends…who ALSO thought I could see the future. It was a self-perpetuating cycle.

My friends would ask me to “see” for them. I closed my eyes and projected part of my consciousness into their future and told them what I saw. For instance, a friend was having turmoil in a relationship. I said I saw a roller coaster and intermittent dark patches but in the end it would be okay.

THEN, it was very deep and symbolic. The roller coaster represented the ups and downs. The dark patches meant that things would get very bad on and off, but in the end it would all be okay.

NOW I know that I was just reinterpreting what I already knew since I knew both people in question. Unfortunately when I did that and I had a “hit”, it reinforced my delusion AND theirs. Yes I had the occasional miss, but no one really paid attention to it since I hit far more often than I missed.

Thank you Penn & Teller and thank you Mark Edward. You changed my life and I will forever be grateful.

2 Comments

  1. Sgerbic said,

    March 26, 2010 at 9:26 am

    Don’t beat yourself up so much. Probably 3/4’s of us had some nutty belief that we are embarrassed about. Some had many beliefs.

    Fortunatly I’m not the type that gets embarrasses. (because I’m a Leo with a Scorpio with a raising sun in Scorpio) I was so into this determining your personality based on when you were born, I must have drove my school friends nuts. I didn’t believe you could predict the future, but I was convinced you could know a personality. No one could retuofit better than me.

    Another great look into your growing skeptical mind, are you a Aries by any chance?

    p.s. Mark Edward IS the bomb!

  2. Herbwoman said,

    March 26, 2010 at 10:38 am

    LOL! No, not an Aries, but I may have Aries rising in my third house 😉 No, I’m Aquarius.

    It just seems like, with all the skeptics I’ve met, I was formerly the biggest nut in the fruitcake. Self-flagellation is a part-time hobby especially when I think that I may have actually hurt people. I’ll just try not to make the beatings so public 🙂


Leave a Reply

