No Regrets


I know I’m late to this particular parade. Her special has been out for a while now. I just finished watching Julia Sweeney’s “Letting Go of God” on HBO. My regular readers know that I do what I can to avoid religious discussion here. And although the title says it all, Julia also talk about her feelings surrounding giving up other beliefs.

That’s what I’m going to talk about today.

As I watched the end, she talks about the wonders and mysteries of our existence. She talks about how transient and precious life is and how people who have died still live on in our hearts and minds.

In that moment I realized how very precious my life as a skeptic is to me. I no longer have to pretend that I have all the answers the way I did when I was “psychic”. I’m free to say “I don’t know”.

Since I don’t believe I can heal people with “energy” and crystals anymore, I don’t have to feel responsible for a client’s state of well-being. I’m free to admire the beauty of the minerals and rocks for what they are, not what some book says they’re useful for.

As a crystal healer I had to wear certain types of rocks because their energetic vibrations were beneficial to the client. Now I can wear whatever I want and not worry that I’m infringing on someone’s aura, influencing their chakras or unconsciously removing their karmic debt.

The stone at the left is a 12-faceted piece of flourite with aquamarine and citrine. In numerology if you have a double digit number, you add the two digits together. So in this case 12 = 1+2=3 and three is a magic number: the number of the Holy Trinity, etc.

The flourite itself is purple and green. Purple is a healing color while green is the color of the heart chakra. The tip of this crystal is also smoky quartz. Smoky quartz removes negative energies from the aura.

Add to that, the dolphin and aquamarine help assist with communication and the citrine holds the healing properties of the sun and clears etheric toxins.

So right there you can see this is a VERY powerful healing tool.

Back in the day I really did believed that. I was convinced I could feel the energy of the stone as a warm, tingling sensation. Now I realize it for what it is. My own imagination.

There is no science-based evidence to back ANY of those claims up. So now I am free just to admire the beauty of the stone for what it is. A really pretty rock with other pretty rocks on it.  No regrets there. Actually letting go of that was as much of a relief as letting go of the self-delusion that I was psychic.

Once in a very great while I miss Faeries and Dragons. I wish that the Seelie Court were real and that, just once, I could see them in all their fae glamour.

In my imagination, dragons are highly intelligent, peaceful creatures that love to sing. Their deep, rumbling bass voices making the earth vibrate in time with their song. I miss believing that somewhere they really exist.

I don’t count those as regrets though. Belief in faeries and dragons was all wishful thinking. How can I regret letting go of something that evidence shows, never really existed?

Instead of faeries, I have galaxies and nebula. Instead of dragons I have evolution.

It’s a good trade off and I have no regrets.

1 Comment

  1. Sgerbic said,

    April 15, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    I think this is your best blog entry yet. Well done. I enjoyed the last two sentences a lot.


Leave a Reply

