The Great Experiment Scholarship


I was inspired by Myk Dowling and his comment on The Great Experiment pt 1. He stated that my findings in The Great Experiment would have to be confirmed by other experimenters. This inspired me to start The Great Experiment Scholarship!

The Great Experiment Scholarship

This scholarship is open to:

Persons of any age.

Persons who are not professional scientist

Persons who are interested in running their own small experiment at home

Contact me with a letter or email containing the following:

1)    The original question behind the experiment

What prompted your idea to investigate this?

2)    Any background research you have done on that question

Has anyone else investigated this? What did they find out? Is this something that already has conclusive evidence?

3)    Your hypothesis

Usually a hypothesis is constructed like so: “If I do _____ then ________ will happen”

My hypothesis for the Great Experiment would be “If I expose flies to honey, vinegar and water, I will catch more flies with the honey than the vinegar or water.”

4)    How you will test your hypothesis

Please see the entries titled The Great Experiment pt 1 and The Great Experiment pt 2 for my testing and methodology.

5)    The methodology of your experiment

Take pictures or video of your experiment and send them to me. I will post them on http://fledgelingskeptic.com and make you a science Rock Star!

Scholarship amounts will be based on the size of the experiment and the required equipment. The largest amount awarded will be $20. The smallest will be $5. This may change over time depending on how successful this project is.

After all, James Randi started with just a $1000 in his challenge. Now it’s up to a million.

In the fall I want to take The Great Experiment into elementary and middle schools in Orange county. Eventually I’d love to see this Scholarship become international.

Just to clarify: Your experiments are not limited to MY Great Experiment. You can run any kind of experiment on any hypothesis that you can imagine. You’re not limited to testing the hypothesis: You catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar. Test anything your inquiring mind desires that you can imagine and feasibly test at home.

To submit your application, send your email to mmyrback@fledgelingskeptic.com

2 Comments

  1. Myk said,

    May 7, 2010 at 9:15 am

    I’m very proud to have been the inspiration for such a great and noble idea. In fact, to expand the range of experimentation possible, I am willing to match you dollar for dollar in granting scholarships.

  2. May 7, 2010 at 10:52 am

    Myk; I am SO excited and so pleased that you love the idea this much. Thank you for your offer. I’ll be in touch as things develop more. Looks like I’m going to need to set up a Not For Profit organization so that I can legally accept donations.


Leave a Reply

