My Job


I used to love my job. Decanting essential oils, being awash in wonderful aromas and knowing that I was doing something to help people.

Now, I don’t “know” that anymore. Since proper testing for efficacy in essential oils applied to the skin is difficult to find, I don’t really know anymore if I’m helping or hurting people. We know that inhalation of essential oils such a lavender for relaxation doesn’t do much beyond the actual process of deep breathing and conscious relaxation.

Until http://thegreatexperimentscholarship.org gets off the ground I’m in an odd position. The truth is that I don’t really know that what I’m selling does what it’s supposed to do. I worry now that I’m no better than a snakeoil saleswoman. Of course I would NEVER tell someone to use EOs for medical treatment or instead of medical treatment. That doesn’t make me feel any better though.

I’ve been avoiding my office for the past 10 days because of how I’m feeling about this. I don’t know if I should be doing research. I probably should but I’ve got no idea where to look for something like this.  Any suggestions would be helpful.

I can’t just abandon the company. We have thousands of dollars worth of essential oils sitting in this room. Not to mention all the bottles in the garage. I don’t even know if I can sell this company in good conscience.

And so my journey as a skeptic continues.

2 Comments

  1. Bret Hall said,

    May 15, 2010 at 1:12 pm

    Maria,

    I think a skeptoid episode might be of help to you in this circumstance. I think personally, that just selling the oil does not make you a hypocrite, you are just providing a service, without making promises of efficacy. Of course, I’m horribly paraphrasing Brian, so check the link below

    http://skeptoid.com/episodes/4003

    I hope this helps, Maria
    -Bret

  2. May 16, 2010 at 1:16 am

    Thanks Brett 🙂 That did help. I really like the tack of “Yes this works but it works better with your medication.”. That’s kind of what I’ve been doing all along anyway. I just worry. Considering my background, I don’t want to go back to the way I was. Ever.


Leave a Reply

