The Great Experiment pt 4


Unfortunately trying to convert video files from MPEG-2 to MPEG-4 killed Ken’s hard drive So for the moment we don’t have video of the fly larvae, the sorting into containers or of them in their individual jars.

Most of the larvae in both jars are in the pupae stage now.  At least I *think* they are. They look like a bunch of little brown/black bits of mouse feces. I should start getting flies in 3-5 days. Once I do, then I’ll move on to performing the actual experiment.

I have an email in to Grubco.com. Right now I don’t know if somehow, through ignorance, I managed to kill the larvae or if they’re in pupa form. They’re all black and stiff looking. I would have thought that a pupa would be puffier somehow.  Normally I would call that *dead* but I’m waiting to hear back from Grubco before I go chucking this first attempt at the experiment.

Here is a photo of what I’ve got going on in one of the containers. Place your bets! Place your bets! Dead or Pupa?

1 Comment

  1. Myk said,

    May 17, 2010 at 7:10 am

    Looks like pupae to me, but the photo quality could be better.


Leave a Reply

