The Great Experiment Videos #2


Last week the fly larvae hatched out. We have a bunch of healthy black flies that were buzzing around the peanut butter jar. Unfortunately it looks like a bunch didn’t hatch out. So I have a reduced number of flies to start. Science marches on though.

Thanks to technical difficulties in figuring out how to compile and transfer video it was a couple days between the release of these videos and when we we shot what you are about to see.

First, the 10 gallon aquarium was cleaned with generic dish soap and water. Then I cut three pieces of printer paper into cone shapes. After that I measured two ounces each of water, generic white vinegar and honey. I used the same Pyrex measuring cup for each substance. Those were poured into (1) one quart mason jars that had been purchased from Wal-Mart along with the honey and vinegar.

Once the substances were poured, I inserted the cones and placed them in the tank.  The flies were added and now we’re waiting 24 hours for the results.

To remind you all, the hypothesis is: You catch more flies with honey than you do with vinegar. I have also included a control of water.

I would re-run the test but I don’t have enough live flies. The poor little things seem to have died much more quickly than I was led to believe.  I also had a bunch that didn’t hatch out. So I’m making do with what I have.

After a great deal of headache and technical difficulties, I am pleased to announce that we have the video of the rest of The Great Experiment. AND we have THE RESULTS!! Can you REALLY catch more flies with honey than with vinegar? Watch and find out.

2 Comments

  1. Myk said,

    May 26, 2010 at 2:26 am

    Unfortunately, dropping the flies so the honey was closer to them than the other substances does introduce a bias, but the result seems extremely convincing nonetheless.

    Those flies didn’t seem very active.

    • May 26, 2010 at 11:00 am

      CRAP!!!! I didn’t even think about the point of introduction. Thanks for pointing that out. And no they weren’t very active. I’m going to want to repeat the experiment.


Leave a Reply

