Sleep Paralysis – A Personal Experience


A few weeks ago I wrote an article about Alien Abduction. In it I talked about my father’s experience with sleep paralysis when I was young.

Yesterday morning I had my own experience with it. There were no demons or aliens involved. I just had some VERY bizarre dreams. In the first, it was partially a third-party view narrated in a Spanish accent dealing with an adult woman who had been incestuously raped by every man in her family. In the dream I ended up defending her honor by shooting two of them.

After that, I opened my eyes and saw that I was alone in the bedroom.

Again, no aliens. No demons. I just couldn’t move. My body felt like it was made of lead and wrapped in cotton batting submerged in the ocean at the bottom of  Mariana Trench. I didn’t fight it. I just made the choice to go back to sleep.

In the article I mentioned above, sleep paralysis tends to run in families. However, in this article the author states that it is rare to have an initial event after the age of 30. I am 43. The author also states that about 1/3 of the people who report sleep paralysis have the same comfortable situation wherein they just shrug is off and “don’t give the matter much thought”.

“It is entirely possibly that almost everyone has experienced such a state but has scarcely noticed and soon forgotten the experience.”, the author goes on to say.

If you would like to know more about hypnagogic and hypnopomic sleep paralysis and hallucinations, please click on the first highlighted link above.

Leave a Reply

