Vacation


As I write this, I am sitting in a little cafe in Sosua, Dominican Republic. This is the first access I have had to wi-fi since we left Saturday morning. But never fear! I have written articles about TAM 8 and they will be posting over the next week starting tomorrow.

The poverty level hear is mind-boggling. I had my shoes shined this morning by a boy who couldn’t have been any older than 8. He and his friends are all homeless orphans. They are refugees from Haiti. An emaciated man selling flowers just walked by. And on the way over, I gave 20 pesos to an old woman who was hungry.

You hear that a lot around here. A boy who couldn’t have been any older than 7 came by saying he was hungry. I gave him 200 pesos ($5) because that was the smallest bill I had. A few minutes later he brought me a pretty yellow flower for my hair.

On the other side of the coin, this place is stunningly beautiful. I could spend more time here because I’m growing to love it. It’s a harsh, beautiful country full of dichotomy. Haitians are beaten for no other reason besides they are refugees from Haiti. Prostitution is rampant. The street kids have started sniffing paint thinner. It’s enough to break the heart.

But the kids are genuinely good kids. The people here are kind and friendly. It’s a hard life for many.

I guess this is the trade off for living in Paradise.

1 Comment

  1. sgerbic said,

    July 25, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    WOW! Did I miss something here? What are you doing there?


Leave a Reply

