Always Check Your Sources


Two days ago I wrote an article about Pat Robertson and his supposed claim that his God is confused by metrosexuals. Last night I received a very kind email from George Hrab letting me know that the piece I used as a source (link is in original article) was, in reality, a comedy piece.

This, ladies and gentlemen, is why you ALWAYS check your sources. I made the very big mistake of letting my personal views get in the way of actual journalism this time. Pat Robertson has a previous history of saying things that, to me, as a skeptic, sound kind of nutty. For instance he blamed the earthquake in Haiti on a pact with the Devil that the Haitians supposedly made to win their freedom as a country. So, of course when that piece about the DC quake came up, instead of checking to make sure these were real quotes from Pat Robertson, I jumped on the chance to spread the word. That was bad journalism.

What I SHOULD have done was check the net to see if there was more than one source using those quotes. I should also have checked out the URL doing the “reporting” to see if it was a new outlet or, as it turns out, something else entirely. I SHOULD have checked to make sure that this had been reported in other places. But, I didn’t. I let my personal biases get in the way.

Sorry Internets. I’ll do better next time.

5 Comments

  1. Allecher said,

    August 26, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Look on the bright side – George Hrab reads your blog!

    • August 26, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      Holy crap! I never thought of that! Thanks for that bright spot in an otherwise craptastic day 🙂

  2. August 26, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    Props for correcting the mistake. Take care!

  3. August 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    Don’t apologize, it’s hilarious! He says enough terrible things that I could see how you would believe that story.

  4. February 17, 2012 at 11:22 am

    […] to admire the cool way they responded to this. Maria Myrback, in her Fledgling Skeptic blog post writes an apology for having let her personal opinions get in the way of objective reporting. She […]


Leave a Reply

